The reason we write

I was trying to think what I should talk about but today’s post and then it hit me. Most people when they start blogging create an “about me” post so the world can get to know them but for some reason, I skipped that. So I guess you can consider this my “About me” post (even though it’s not exactly what I want to talk about).

The reason I created this blog in the first place was for a uni assignment but the more I got invested in it, the more it started growing on me. The idea of creating online content even though it was always very appealing to me, I couldn’t be bothered with committing to anything since I knew chances were no one would want to see it (except my webcomics blog which is an on and of thing). But what did I have to lose? Worst case scenario no knew about it, best case scenario I’m a millionaire internet celebrity that makes shitty diss tracks. However I’m lazy as fuck and since the youtube channel I made in junior high school never caught on, I decided to focus on different projects.

But the idea of expressing my voice was always in the back of my head. And I’ve always been the guy that has an opinion on anyone and anything so it only made sense. So when the opportunity arrived I decided to give it shot. To be fair, no matter how much you enjoy doing something, when it becomes stressful it stops being fun. And since I always get stressed about uni assignments, mostly because English isn’t my native language, when I created The Promise land, blogging and I were not the passionate lovers we are today. I tried focusing on research and not so much on expressing my own opinion. But for some reason, 5 scraped posts later, I realised writing stopped being something I had to do and became something I enjoyed doing. When I wasn’t writing I was thinking about new post ideas. The more I wrote the more I enjoyed it and even though my posts are not Pulitzer worthy, blogging became something I wanted in my life. Almost as if I needed it.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m a fucking journalist now. My enthusiasm is probably going to wear off in the near future and the blog will be in a similar state with my webcomics blog. But that’s not the point of the post. As an amateur artist, I believe that it’s important to expand your horizons now and then and give new things a shot. You can’t call yourself a painter if you’ve never tried sculpting or photography. Technically you can and I’m pretty sure there are many people out there who disagree with me, but I could never limit myself to only one thing and miss out so many opportunities. I was never talented enough to draw with a brush but with my photoshop skills and a cheap Wacom tablet, I was able to create something I was never able to. And I think that’s what art is all about. Pushing your limits and discovering new skills you didn’t know you had on the way.

Leave a comment